top of page
  • Writer's picture

Five languages of love and couples communication - Part 1: The 5 love languages

Part 1 - The 5 love languages

Quality time means love and affection are expressed when someone gives someone else their undivided attention. This means putting down the cell phone and turning off the tablet, making eye contact, and actively listening. Not everyone communicates love in the same way, and likewise, people have different ways they prefer to receive love. The concept of love languages was developed by Gary Chapman, Ph.D., in his book The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts, where he describes these five unique styles of communicating love, categories he distilled from his experience in marriage counseling and linguistics. Love languages are a deceptively simple concept, and understanding them can be transformative if you put in the practical work. It invites curiosity, not mind-reading, into the relationship.

The five love languages are five different ways of expressing and receiving love. The five love languages are words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service, and physical touch.

Join Sam and Rebecca this Nov 13th (Saturday) 3pm-4.30pm as they they talk about THE ART OF CHANGE - Dealing with Emotional Triggers and Drivers. Register here!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page