top of page
  • Writer's picture

Five languages of love and couples communication - Part 2: Love language in NLP

Part 2 - Love language in NLP

In NLP, a visual person’s love language is giving and receiving gifts. Gift-giving is symbolic of love and affection in their mind. They treasure not only the gift itself but also the time and effort the gift giver put into it. They want to see acts of service, they feel loved and appreciated when they physically see or imagine in their mind’s eye, people doing nice things for them. Whether it's helping with the dishes or putting gas in the car, little acts of service go straight to the person's heart. Kinesthetics, one the other hand, are those who have physical touch as their primary love language. They feel loved when their partner shows physical affection in some way like holding their hand, touching their arm, or giving them a massage at the end of the day. Auditories are those who use words and sounds as their primary love language. Giving and receiving love, for them, are about expressing affection through spoken words, praise, or appreciation. They enjoy kind words and encouragement.

It has been suggested that in order to discover another person’s love language, you can observe the way they express love to others, and towards yourself. People tend to give love in the way that they want to be loved. Dr. Chapman suggests that better communication can be accomplished when you can demonstrate love towards your partner in the love language that they understand and desire. By taking the time to learn, understand and respond to your partner’s love languages can improve communication and strengthen your relationship.

Join Sam and Rebecca this Nov 13th (Saturday) 3pm-4.30pm as they they talk about THE ART OF CHANGE - Dealing with Emotional Triggers and Drivers. Register here!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page